Too Familiar…

March 8, 2009 at 10:42 am 1 comment

So I’m doing this Bible study with one of my youth kids. We meet once a week and usually have some food (this is vital as we both LOVE to eat) and talk through a passage of Scripture. I should make a few things clear about our study. First, this youth kid is pretty new to the faith and hasn’t been “churched” for very long. Second, we are going through a book of the Bible that I have studied probably 20 times, easily. (That’s probably a slight exaggeration, but you get my point)

I confess when we started this study I was less than excited. I was excited that this student had committed to reading through a book of the Bible and I was very excited that he was taking it seriously and seemingly learning from it. I wasn’t excited for my own part in this. I mean after all, I had read this book several times, so what new revelation could I possible deem from our time together.

I am SOOO glad God is bigger and better than my wildest expectations. I have learned so much in this study and have been struck by a number of things.

    1. Often new believers or “unchurched” individuals have a fresh and new perspective on things. I learned this very early on and it was overwhelmingly obvious. Things were seen through different lenses, lenses that I too needed to look through. I found this to be powerful and challenging.
    2. I take way too much for granted. I read passages that I think I know the interpretation to because I’ve always interpreted it this way, and sometimes, that isn’t correct or is incomplete.
    3. This one is probably the toughest and is ultimately the point of this post. My faith has become way too familiar. I can read passages about the suffering of Christ or about his death with little or no emotion or impact. Jesus’ death on the cross has become so familiar that it’s like another thing I check off my list of things that happened or things I believe.

    As I watch my kid read this passage with amazement and wonder and thankfulness and pain and passion I am convicted. I am convicted that I must never allow the Gospel to be average news or comfortable news but I must always remember that it’s The Good News and it’s just as good today as it was when I first heard it. I must continually “renew my mind” so that I am not complacent, lazy, mechanical or apathetic. I can not and I will not allow my faith to become so familiar that it has no focus or power. This is my prayer, this is my desire!

    Entry filed under: 1.

    Judge…………..

    1 Comment Add your own

    • 1. Jenn Eastman  |  April 9, 2009 at 11:38 am

      great post noah! 🙂 i’m glad God is giving you this opportunity to learn more about Him and help others grow in their faith as well!

    Leave a Reply

        Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


    Stuff I am reading:

    The Ultimate Priority
    The Ultimate Priority
    John MacArthur

    How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
    The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
    Brenda Salter Mcneil

    The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
    The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
    Donald W. McCullough

    Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

    Making Disciples a Few at a Time
    Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
    Greg Ogden


