Judge…………..

March 4, 2009 at 2:17 pm 1 comment

Recently I had breakfast at the International House of Pancakes, also known as IHOP. I was eating alone because it was early and I was combining a little work with breakfast. Now in case you didn’t know, IHOP has this insanely cool thing called, all you can eat pancakes. Friends, this is a gift from God. I sat down, and I made my order and as I waited I did a little reading. The waitress came back with my first three pancakes and they were hot and delicious. (If you aren’t hungry by now, something is wrong!) After a few minutes she came back and asked if I was ok and I let her know that I was ready for my second round of pancakes. She looked at me a bit surprised and then turned and left to retrieve more delicious cakes.

She returned with three more pancakes, just as delicious as the first, and I ate them as well. As my waitress came to check on me again, I informed her that I was ready for my third round. Again she looked confused, turned and went and got some more pancakes. As she dropped the cakes off this time, I asked her if I was requesting my pancakes incorrectly or if something was wrong because she seemed a bit perplexed when I asked for more. She responded “No honey. You are ordering them just fine. I just have to tell you. When you sat your little skinny self down and ordered all you can eat pancakes I didn’t think you would even finish the first three, and then you ordered more, and more. To tell you the truth, I am just shocked you can eat that much. I had you all wrong.” It all made sense then.

Here’s another one. I went bowling recently with some friends and there was a very nice guy bowling next to us. He bowled a few games and then afterwards started talking to me. He asked me to look over at lane 4 at a lady who was about to bowl. He then informed me that the lady was blind. I thought for sure he was kidding around. But sure enough, she was blind. She had memorized how many steps it took to get to the line and was bowling all by herself. I watched her walk down, throw her ball, and to my surprise, knock down ALL the pins. It was one of the most amazing things I’ve ever seen. The guy then informed me that the lady I was watching was his wife. He then told me a few stories about how people had made judgments underestimating his wife. I felt guilty because I had underestimated her as well.

The truth is that we all do that. We all look at people and make judgments about them based on what we perceive or think we know. The reality is that often we are wrong. The old saying of you can’t judge a book by its cover is oh so true. Often our preconceived notions about individuals preclude us from unpacking and experiencing what is true. We miss out on experiencing the real because we deceive ourselves with what is false. My point is simply and obvious: Don’t make snap judgments about people! I make this challenge with the realization that it’s hard, and I myself am guilty of committing this offense. However, I believe that when we open our eyes, hearts, and minds to see people and situations as they are, we are better off for it. May God give us all the wisdom, courage and discipline to gather all our facts before we make judgments.

Entry filed under: 1.

Very Thought-Provoking Article… Too Familiar…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jenn Eastman  |  March 7, 2009 at 2:40 pm

    noah, that post was amazing! thanks for sharing it! very encouraging! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


