Back…for real this time!

August 17, 2008 at 11:17 pm 1 comment

Guess who’s back! Back again! Noah’s back! Tell a friend! What’s up people! In case anyone still reads my blog, I am back! I haven’t written in months and have taken the summer off, but here I am back…So let’s stop the introduction and get on with writing!

So, my grandpa is in his 70’s and got a hole in one the other day. For those of you that don’t know what a hole in one is, let me explain. It’s when you get the little white ball in the hole with ONE shot…(hence the name) It was a 149 yard par three and my grandpa knocked it right in with one shot. It’s quite amazing when you think about it. He’s in his 70’s and that’s a pretty hard thing to accomplish.

He was talking about it a few days later (after it was in the local paper in Dallas) and I was giving him a hard time for using a 3 wood to accomplish this feat. (the 3 wood is the second largest golf club) I was giving him a hard time because it took a 3 wood for him to hit the ball 149 yards. He of course, reminded me that it didn’t matter what he used because he got the ball in the hole.

If my grandpa had tried to use the same club that everyone else used, he would have never been able to accomplish that hole in one. He knew what his strength was and he went with that regardless of what everyone else was doing.

Sometimes we think that people have to go about life the same way we do. We judge people when they think differently or take a different route than we did. We make statements (or think statements ) like “that’s not how I would do it” or “I would never do it like that”.

Or maybe WE think that WE have to go about life like other people. We make little gods out of other people and try to model our lives completely after theirs. Of course, it’s wise to learn from others but God never intended for us to be other people. He has a unique and different path for us all.

So here’s my point: We are all different and we all have different strengths and weaknesses and those should be embraced not changed.

Entry filed under: 1.

I’m sorry I havent written in forever! Why a Christian Can vote for a Democrat…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jasmine  |  November 3, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    I am glad I happened upon this today. I needed it. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


