More…

February 8, 2008 at 3:45 pm 9 comments

I’ve waited a little bit to write this post because it has just seemed wise to do so. Things around here have been insane. If you haven’t read my previous post below, you should start there. After the incidents at my church, two subsequent incidents have taken place at my home. First, on last Friday, I receive a threatening note in my mail box. I will not go into the details of that note, as an investigation by the local police and FBI is ongoing. Secondly, this past Tuesday, my home was broken into and trash. Picture frames, painting, vases, glass, keyboard, lamps and other things were thrown all over the floor and things were just left a mess. My dog was also missing. His collars had been taken off (seemingly to indicate that he was taken and not just run away) It was not a fun night and an even worst morning.

Today, Scruffy was found on the side of the road, dead. Apparently he had been hit by a car. I was told to find peace in the fact that he didn’t suffer, but somehow that doesn’t make me feel any better.

This whole thing has been incredibly overwhelming. Speechless is really the word that comes to mind. I checked my calendar today and it is 2008, but it sure doesn’t feel like it. A friend of mine sent me this passage of Scripture the other day and for now, I will let it speak for itself. I will write more later when I am able to.

Psalm 91

1 He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High
will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. [a]

2 I will say [b] of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress,
my God, in whom I trust.”

3 Surely he will save you from the fowler’s snare
and from the deadly pestilence.

4 He will cover you with his feathers,
and under his wings you will find refuge;
his faithfulness will be your shield and rampart.

5 You will not fear the terror of night,
nor the arrow that flies by day,

6 nor the pestilence that stalks in the darkness,
nor the plague that destroys at midday.

7 A thousand may fall at your side,
ten thousand at your right hand,
but it will not come near you.

8 You will only observe with your eyes
and see the punishment of the wicked.

9 If you make the Most High your dwelling—
even the LORD, who is my refuge-

10 then no harm will befall you,
no disaster will come near your tent.

11 For he will command his angels concerning you
to guard you in all your ways;

12 they will lift you up in their hands,
so that you will not strike your foot against a stone.

13 You will tread upon the lion and the cobra;
you will trample the great lion and the serpent.

14 “Because he loves me,” says the LORD, “I will rescue him;
I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name.

15 He will call upon me, and I will answer him;
I will be with him in trouble,
I will deliver him and honor him.

16 With long life will I satisfy him
and show him my salvation.”

Entry filed under: 1.

Seriously, Racism Still Exist? Doing Well

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marcia  |  February 8, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Friend, we are praying for you! I am so sorry!!!

  • 2. Lindsey  |  February 8, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Noah, I’m so sorry. I pray in Jesus name there will be NO room for darkness in our church and your home. There will be no room for anything else other than Christ! I shared your story with my prayer partners as my prayer request. So there are a few mommas here in Springfield praying for you! God Bless.

  • 3. Miriam  |  February 8, 2008 at 7:15 pm

    Noah – I pray for you whenever I think of you – when I wake up in the middle of the night, random times during the day. I pray that you will not be afraid – be able to sleep – stay strong. I’m in Lindsey’s prayer group. I’m so sad that you’ve lost your dog – we have two dogs and each has a unique personality. I know God is in this mess – that He will use it to His Glory – some how some way. Hang in there!

  • 4. Sadie  |  February 8, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Dearest Noah,
    I am praying for you. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you.
    Lovelovelove.

  • 5. kim  |  February 8, 2008 at 11:41 pm

    Noah, I am so sorry. Please tell your mother, I’m so sorry. I’ve thought of her often in all this, and I hurt for her. I pray for resolve. I pray our whole community comes to a place of God’s views, what is right. and we all become your protectors. And the evil has to stand in the bright light of our mighty God. I am sadened for our dream of peace that we are not as close to it as I thought.
    Noah you bless us all! God bless you for all you do for us and our church for the sake of your love in Christ.

  • 6. Kelly  |  February 9, 2008 at 12:48 am

    Noah, I am praying for you. And I have my whole church praying for you and for who ever is resposible for all of this. Stand strong, you are an amazing man of God, you are God’s creation and He loves you more than anything, remeber that.

  • 7. Randy & Pam  |  February 9, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Noah,
    Speechless & saddened beyond belief! We are so very sorry. You and your mother are in our constant prayers. Noah, you are an amazing man of God & are touching so many lives in a wonderful, positive way. God loves you & our family loves you!

  • 8. Sadie  |  February 14, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    You and my husband were at Starbucks today. AND NO ONE GOT ME A DRINK! Gah, you two are mean mean mean.

  • 9. Chris  |  February 15, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Praying for you man. This is pretty much insane.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


