Not So Fast! Process, Process, Process!

January 8, 2008 at 7:35 am 2 comments

This past weekend, I decided to re-do my bathroom. I wanted to replace the countertop, light fixtures, shelving, and decorations. I awoke early Saturday morning and began the long process of gathering all the new stuff. I went to Wal-mart, Lowes, Home Depot, and Bed Bath and Beyond. It was a long morning. I got all the new stuff, went home, and began the process of changing my bathroom. I like change, so for me, this was a wonderful process. Within about 24 hours, my bathroom was different. Actually it was more than different, it was completely altered. Throughout that day and subsequent days, people that had seen the old bathroom, walked into the new one amazed. Everything was better; everything had changed for the good, and all in one day.

             I fear that we expect this type of change in people. We expect ourselves and others to change instantly and without trouble. The reality is that change usually comes in stages and with some pain and trouble. With the New Year here, we have all undoubtedly seen things in our lives that we want to change. Some of those changes are easy and others are extremely hard. My message for you is simply, change takes times and we should be committed to the process no matter how long it takes.

            I wish I could wake up tomorrow, decide that I wanted a specific area of my life to change, go and get the new product, install it and watch this new beautiful me. Unfortunately, it usually doesn’t work like that. What I’ve found is that I expect others to change this way too. I expect for people to identify an area of weakness and just change it. I mean after all, it can’t be that hard! W can easily have unfair expectations for others that stem from this quick fix mindset.

            I usually start the New Year with a list of things that I want to change. This year’s list is long! As I look at the list, what I have come to realize is that some of the things just might be on my list again next year. My job, and may I suggest that it’s your job as well, is to stay true to the process.

            So maybe you’ve vowed to be a better husband or wife, or to swear less, or to drink less, or maybe just to be a nicer person. Maybe you just want to tell the truth more, or control your anger more, or perhaps you just want to listen to people more. Maybe you want to read your Bible more, or start reading it for the first time, or perhaps you want to start applying what you’ve read. Whatever it is, you should know that it likely won’t be easy and you won’t have results within 24 hours. It won’t be as easy as replacing a shelf with another one. In the end though, the process of change leads to transformation; real life change. Stay the course, and be encouraged.

(If you are thinking, I remember Noah writing about change before, you are correct! Change Post)

Entry filed under: 1.

Blog Vacation I’ve MOVED!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sadie  |  January 10, 2008 at 1:13 pm

    I don’t generally make New Year resolutions because by January 3rd I can’t remember what I resolved to do.

  • 2. embee  |  January 22, 2008 at 5:22 pm

    I’m with you Noah. Remembering that change is a process is the most difficult thing for me to do. I find that little by little I stop working on whatever I’m trying to change and wind up right back where I was. Frustrating. Maybe this year I can change the cycle and stay on course!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


