Crazy Tears

December 8, 2007 at 12:00 am 3 comments

I don’t like to cry. Actually, that’s an understatement, I hate crying with a passion! A deep deep passionate hate actually. I can tell you the specific times I have cried in the past 5-7 years. It happens that seldom and is that big of a deal. This deep seeded disdain for crying fits my personality well. I’m a down to earth, very logical kind of guy. Emotions really aren’t my specialty. I understand them, I respect them in other people, but I always tend to think of emotions as something that gets in the way of reality.

The last few weeks has changed all that. I have been going through something the last few weeks that has caused me to cry more than I have the past few years. Actually its something I’ve been going through for a number of years… I know most of you have no idea what I am talking about, and that’s really ok. It’s not totally crucial to the point of this post. (Perhaps one day I will fully disclose what exactly I am talking about here)

What I’ve learned is that crying is ok. Actually, crying is more than ok, its necessary, healthy, and refining. It helps us remember that we’re humans with feelings and emotions and sometimes those get so overwhelmed, all we can do is cry. No words, just tears.

Crying makes me realize that I don’t always have the answers and that’s ok. It makes me realize that I don’t always have the exact right word to sum something up, and that’s ok too. Crying helps me understand I am not in control and I don’t have to be. Crying is surrender and victory all rolled up in one.

Even as I type this crazy post, I find myself freed up through my tears. That’s crazy, that’s life…

(You know there is so much more to come…)

Entry filed under: 1.

Jesus, the Republican… Blog Vacation

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  December 9, 2007 at 8:09 pm

    Crying really is surrender and victory all wrapped into one. I will praying for you as always 🙂

  • 2. Rusty  |  December 11, 2007 at 9:51 am

    i find that i have a hard time crying with one exception. for some reason (which should be obvious for those that know me) tears almost always enter my eyes when i see US troops leaving or returning to their families. it can even be a commercial or a movie, but those images bring a lot of emotion to me.

  • 3. Sadie  |  December 13, 2007 at 12:39 pm

    You know what makes me laugh?
    “Great Googly Woogly! I love this couch! This is the greatest couch ever!”

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


