TEXAS!

November 26, 2007 at 8:12 pm 5 comments

 

I got to go to Texas this past week and that was great. I like that I am from Texas. As I was there, I began to realize that some things happen in Texas that makes it a unique little place. (or big place) Most of those things seem to be centered around my driving experience. Here’s a list of things that make Texas, Texas: (at least from my last trip)

Ø      When the speed limit is 60 you have to go at least 70 or you’ll get run off the road.

 

Ø      I was passed by a 80 year old grandma in a Buick while I was driving 78 mph. (in a 60 mph zone) She even gave me a look like “do you even know how to drive?”

 

Ø      Construction is ongoing everywhere and a project is NEVER really done. (There’s this area that I promise has been under construction since I was a senior in High School. (that’s about 6 years)

 

Ø      For some reason, pimping out mustangs is still cool. Like seriously? I saw all these supped up Mustangs…It was ridiculous. I remember that being popular in High school. Again, that was 6 years ago!

 

Ø      There are “official work stations.” Official work stations is Texan for spots where you can pick up illegals to do cheap labor. (I shouldn’t make generalizations. I am sure that some of the workers aren’t illegal, but the vast majority certainly are) Like the government has spent money on building actual buildings for this. The one near my house is called the “Garland Labor Center.” (I can explain this little concept a little more if you so desire, its interesting)

 

Ø      Cowboys apparel is available at your local grocery store. Right next to the apples.

 

Ø      When it says its authentic Mexican food, its authentic Mexican food!

 

I love Texas! I am proud to be born there and proud to visit it from time to time! But, I must say, I am glad I don’t live there anymore.

 

Oh, I have one more story. So there is this Wal-Mart that is sort of close to my house. It’s been there every since I can remember. Last year, I vaguely remember some remodeling going on. (I think they added like a bank or something to the front and some other stuff) It was a pretty big project, but I didn’t think anything of it. I’ve been to this Wal-Mart a million times. I went last week and had to go to the restroom, so I walked to the front of the store and proceeded to walk to the right side where the men’s restroom always is. I didn’t look and was probably thinking about what I had to pick up at the store. I walked into the bathroom and as I walked in I met eyes with a seemingly frightened WOMAN! That’s right, I walked into the woman’s restroom. I gave her an apologetic smile, and exited. Turns out when they did their little remodeling, they switched the bathrooms. I guess I’ll be reading bathroom signs for now on before I just walk into them! (By the way, who switched bathroom sides without sending out a memo or something! J) Anyways, it made for a funny story. I did run into that lady again in the juice aisle… Well I am getting back to work! Hope everyone had a wonderful thanksgiving!

Entry filed under: 1.

Boring Post A Theology of Name Calling…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cade  |  November 26, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    *sigh*

    I miss driving in Texas. These Nashvillians drive with their heads up their… well… you know.

    Hope you’re doing well. =)

  • 2. Kelly  |  November 27, 2007 at 6:16 am

    LOL!!! Life is never boring for you is it 🙂

  • 3. Sadie  |  November 28, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Oh my gosh! I bet those WalMart people got bored and decided that changing the sides of the bathroom would be a way to spice things up. They probably have cameras set up to watch people like you, unsuspecting bathroom users, walk into the bathroom only to find yourself face to face with an old woman. Or to watch an old woman walk into the bathroom and find herself face to face with a urinal.

  • 4. Matt  |  November 28, 2007 at 11:40 pm

    So, what don’t you like about the new site? Share.

  • 5. pastornoah  |  November 29, 2007 at 3:05 am

    sadie…you may be on to something…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


