Boring Post

November 19, 2007 at 8:45 pm 5 comments

I haven’t written in forever, and with this week, I probably won’t be able to for awhile. So, I thought I should probably write today. Of course, I don’t have anything compelling to write about. 

  I’m in the process of filling out a self evaluation. Let’s just say I don’t like those. Evaluating yourself is a tough job. I’m the kind of person who is hard on myself, so when asked questions related to how well I am doing stuff, I tend to think I stink at everything. Of course, that isn’t true, (or hopefully I would be out of a job) but it’s hard to be balanced with yourself. This evaluation has made me stop and think about whether the youth ministry and discipleship ministry is going in the right direction.  

I just finished reading a book entitled Contemplative Youth Ministry: Practicing the Presence of Jesus. I won’t go into great deal about the book, that’s Matt’s job. But I will say that it has challenged me in a number of ways. I’m looking forward to starting Revisiting Relational Youth Ministry.  This is quite possible the most boring post I’ve ever written. My deepest apologies. It’s Monday morning so what do you expect? Greatness? Hardly!  

I’ll try to have a more substantial post either right before thanksgiving or right after. Enjoy the break and I will type to you later!

Entry filed under: 1.

Traveling to Virginia and DC TEXAS!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brit Windel  |  November 19, 2007 at 11:50 pm

    this sucks….just kidding. what kind of evaluation are you doing? did some one draw it up for you? i wish my church would have given me one as i leave..i would rip myself apart

  • 2. pastornoah  |  November 20, 2007 at 1:34 am

    We have yearly evaluations that everyone does. Ripping yourself apart isnt fun, but its productive I imagine.

  • 3. Sadie Perkins  |  November 20, 2007 at 5:42 am

    brit, i think ripping yourself apart can at time really be a sense of false humility (aka pride)

  • 4. rusty  |  November 20, 2007 at 5:43 am

    that comment by sadie was actually by me

  • 5. Matt  |  November 21, 2007 at 8:30 pm

    I did my self-evaluation this week. I think it’s a good thing. We should really probably do them every quarter; it helps me to focus.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


