Traveling to Virginia and DC

November 6, 2007 at 10:08 am 6 comments

 

Airport-traveling (people watching)

I love to travel. I am one of those weird people that likes airports and the annoying process of checking in luggage and being “randomly selected” for additional screening. ( i have not traveled in the last 2 years and NOT been selected for one of these things. I think its funny though and don’t mind a little inconvenience if that means we are all a little more safe.) I like airports. I went to Virginia last weekend for Mark’s wedding. I didn’t actually do this wedding but was able to enjoy it as I was the best man. As I made it to the airport on Friday, I realized why I liked airports. I am addicted to people watching. That’s right; I like to watch people interact. I think people are interesting and even more interesting in airports.

I got to the airport early on Friday, and since XNA is the biggest airport in America (NOT!) I quickly got through security (yes, I was selected for random additional screening. By the way I am not suggesting this is racially connected at all. I don’t think thats the case at all.) and found myself looking at the clock and realizing that my flight wasn’t leaving for another hour. So, people watching began. I put on my headphones and just watched. People are fascinating. I observed a man who obviously loved his wife, as he helped her get back into her wheelchair after she had fallen. I noticed an overwhelmingly spoiled kid throw a tantrum. I saw a kid filled with joy, excitement, and anxiety about flying for the first time. You know, you can tell a lot about people just by watching and being silent. I also noticed people frantically running to catch flights, people walking quickly even when they didn’t have to. The airport in a lot of ways, is a great depiction of our society in general. But, that’s another post entirely. 

Virginia to DC
I had the privilege to have lunch with a friend  when I landed and that began a series of eating alot for the weekend.  After that, I decided to ride the metro into DC to meet up with some other friends before the 4 o clock rehearsal in Virginia. I miss the big city so much. Riding on the metro, unknown, lost among the hundreds (Literally) on the metro was wonderful. As I sat on the metro, it was a completely different world from NWA. I met up with some friends in downtown DC and went to the National Art Museum. Very nice! DC is an intriguing city. I could live there. I like the flow, the people, and just the atmosphere.

The Wedding
Mark and Caryn are so perfect for each other. I’ve had a lot of friends get married, but I must say that they are the couple that I have always seen as being perfect for each other. That may have to do with the fact that I am good friends with both, and Mark happens to be my best friend. So the rehearsal went fine, we had wonderful food, and the wedding was wonderful.

I like simple weddings. Weddings where people aren’t stressed out about every single detail going perfect. Weddings where people don’t loose site of the bigger picture. Weddings where the love of the couple is obvious and really the only thing that matters. Weddings where you think “this couple is really going to make it.” Weddings were the focus is obviously on marriage and not a wedding day. This was one of those weddings.


Of course, when a single 25 year man is at a wedding, he thinks about the fact that he’s single. I’ve bee the groomsman, best man and the official; so perhaps, I’ll be the groom one day. 

🙂

Entry filed under: 1.

Positive Post! Boring Post

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Brit Windel  |  November 6, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    i like watching people as well. and i really don’t enjoy those security checks…because they have happened to me…now i do enjoy them when its someone else because i get to laugh…

  • 2. Kelly  |  November 8, 2007 at 5:04 am

    So when you are people watching do you ever watch other people while they are people watching??

  • 3. pastornoah  |  November 8, 2007 at 5:16 am

    The scary answer to that question is Yes. We fellow people watchers have the ability to identify one another in crowds. We sort of give each other the, “I am watching you watch others” look and keep going…Its fun and funny.

  • 4. Sadie the Crazy Lady  |  November 9, 2007 at 5:04 am

    I am a people watcher too, only I tend to lose myself and start staring at people and then I look like a crazy person. Kind of like when I hum songs to myself in public. It’s hard being me, Noah.

  • 5. Kelly  |  November 9, 2007 at 9:50 am

    When I am in a public area I tend to go into my own little world. I think I am one of those that you people watchers enjoy watching because I am busy talking and singing to myself the entire time! 🙂 I have gotten some very strange looks as I am walking through wal-mart having a discussion with myself on whether I really need an item or not.

  • 6. Matt  |  November 13, 2007 at 2:34 am

    Hahaha, I can’t believe they called back. No one called me back. I think I was pretty clear.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


