Change…

October 9, 2007 at 10:52 pm 4 comments

 

I am one of those weird people that likes change. I find that I am constantly asking is this the best way to do this or should we change it. I’ve lived in my house for 8 months and I’ve changed the color of two rooms twice, I’ve rearranged the furniture in all my rooms at least 3 times, and I just recently changed my living room again. I thrive on making things operate efficiently and as effective as possible. I take this approach with most things in life; my job, my friends, my life in general. I hate routine, I love change.

 

Change for me is usually easy. I like it and find it necessary. Everyone isn’t like that. In fact, it has been brought to my attention that most people aren’t like that at all. Most people hate change. I imagine that there are aspects of my life that I am less than eager to change. For instance, I went to order a vanilla latte the other day like I always order from Starbucks, and they informed me that they were momentarily out of vanilla. (How this happens, I have NO clue!! You’re Starbucks and you should never be momentarily out of anything!) So I had to get a caramel latte. That was a change I didn’t enjoy or welcome. In general, however, I have the “if the change is for the better, let’s do it, approach.”

My dog hates change. I recently changed his dog food because he’s been eating this puppy stuff and I thought it’s a good time to give him some healthy more adult dog food. (I didn’t know such a thing existed until recently) He hates the new food. He sniffs it, and then looks at me with this face that seems to be screaming “What happened to my old food and what is this new weird stuff. Bring me the old stuff now!”

The reality is that he has no clue what the new food taste like because he hasn’t even tried it. He sniffs it, realizes that it’s not what he’s used to, and assumes that it’s not what he wants or needs.(For all he knows, this new food could be the best tasting food ever! 🙂)

The reality is that we all have this attitude to some extent. (Yes, even Noah, the guy who loves change) If we have something “figured out” or if something is “the way we’ve always done it” we usually are reluctant to even enter into dialogue about an alternative approach. I know that once I have “figured something out” I usually want that thing to stay the same. The reality is that very few things are ever completely figured out, and we should be people that are at the very least willing to enter into dialogue about different possibilities. I am so glad that the people of the New Testament were willing to look at an “alternative plan”.

(FYI: This post is not for any particular person or persons. Just Noah’s thoughts, nothing more, nothing less. 🙂 Additionally, I am not talking about theological issues in this post…)

Entry filed under: 1.

What if… Acquire the Fire?!?!?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ypguybrit  |  October 10, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    OH THE THEOLOGICAL IMPLICATIONS OF THIS…..just kidding. noah i didn’t realize we were both OCD in partial about the same thing. i too rearrange my house and furniture every few weeks. i thinks its a sign of a healthy over active brain that likes to keep themselves challenged and seeing things new…as for your dog. (and this could also apply to changing things for other people as well) have you thought about weening him into the new food by mixing the new and old?
    or you can say tough poo dog. if i have to drink a caramel latte you will eat food you hate 😉

  • 2. pastornoah  |  October 10, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    I “ween” with people, not dogs…He’s gotten over it, and likes the new food now.

  • 3. Sadie  |  October 15, 2007 at 10:36 pm

    A joke
    Why do ducks have flat feet?
    To stomp out forest fires.
    Why do elephants have flat feet?
    To stomp out flaming ducks!!

    HAHAHAHA!

  • […] (If you are thinking, I remember Noah writing about change before, you are correct! Change Post) […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


