What if…

October 2, 2007 at 7:52 pm 7 comments

 

As I lay on my hammock on my deck, I begin to think about all these “What if” questions…

 

Ø      What if we woke up each day and prayed that God would truly guide our every step and thought

Ø      What if we took Jesus’ words seriously and loved our neighbor as ourselves

Ø      What if the Church really was a representation of Jesus  

Ø      What if people saw the church as a redemptive place and not a place of judgment and doom

Ø      What if I cleaned up my life before I tried to convict others to clean up theirs

Ø      What if my only concern in life was to bring God honor and glory every moment of everyday

Ø      What if the youth ministry marketing culture spent as much time praying as they do sending me pointless junk every single day

Ø      What if I prayed without ceasing

Ø      What if I worshipped God with all of my being instead of just the part that’s comfortable and convenient

Ø      What if we all weren’t so afraid of change and were willing to “ride” wherever Jesus took us

Ø      What if Adam and Eve had never sinned and we didn’t have this terrible thing called a sinful nature

Ø      What if we really understood how desperate we are for Christ because of our sinful nature

 

Man, I am so far from where God wants me to be. I am so thankful that He is faithful to lead me, even when I follow so dimly.

Entry filed under: 1.

FYI Change…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. girlfromthenorthcountry  |  October 2, 2007 at 9:45 pm

    Hi, Noah.
    Is this JBU Noah?
    Ann

  • 2. Sadie Perkins  |  October 3, 2007 at 12:06 am

    Noah, thank you for your encouragement. I too am glad that I am married to your good friend Rusty Perkins, even if you two do go out to eat all the freaking time and I never get to go eat out especially when I really want Chinese food. We should hang out, seriously. And since you have a deck and a hammock I want to hang out at your house.

  • 3. girlfromthenorthcountry  |  October 3, 2007 at 12:45 am

    When you first wrote that there’s a hammock on your deck, I mis-read it and thought it said that there was a hammock on your desk. My first thought? He must be a youth pastor. I’m not even kidding.

    Thanks for the comment, Noah, and for the compliment. I am moving to California in January, but in about three weeks I’m moving to Minnesota to live with the parents and save money for a few months. And, of course, to spend time with good ol’ Micah. How have you been? What are you up to these days?

  • 4. Matt  |  October 3, 2007 at 5:10 am

    “What if the youth ministry marketing culture spent as much time praying as they do sending me pointless junk every single day”

    Noah! We must use every means necessary to advance the gospel of Jesus Christ! No cost is too much! Every single event brochure and curriculum catalog WILL CHANGE THE LIVES OF EVERY SINGLE YOUTH IN YOUR YOUTH GROUP (and maybe even county)! They must get the message out! Exclamation marks!!!

  • 5. SadiethePerkins  |  October 5, 2007 at 11:18 pm

    HAHAHAHA! Matt is a funny man. I can only imagine the drippingly sarcastic and snippy things that are said when you, Rusty and Matt chat. I would probably pee my pants what with all the laughter.

  • 6. pastornoah  |  October 7, 2007 at 12:43 am

    Yes we have some very funny moments when we chat. Sometimes I think we should record them and make lots of money some day…hmmm

  • 7. ypguybrit  |  October 7, 2007 at 2:43 am

    why must matt be so bitter…i will work for that machine one day..and this book will done day probably be pushed by those marketers of Judas as well so be nice

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


