Racism

September 5, 2007 at 7:57 pm 6 comments

fightracism.jpg

        So the other day I was driving from Columbus Ohio to Arkansas when I had an interesting encounter. I’ve made that drive several times in my life and though it’s long, it’s a pleasant drive. As I left Columbus I drove for several hours and then I decided to stop and get gas and such. I usually have my set stops that I stop at (As I said, I have made this trip a lot) but decided that I wasn’t going to make it to my normal stop. So, I reluctantly existed to what seemed like a very small town. I don’t usually do this because… 

        As I made my way to the only gas station at this stop, I pretty much knew that I shouldn’t have existed here. I’m usually pretty careful about where I stop, but I had to get gas. Anyways, I get out of my car and go inside and as I am walking inside, two white guys are walking out. As they pass me, one ask the other guy who let the ni**er in their town. I of course heard this and my initial reaction was shock. Isn’t the year 2007 and aren’t we way pass this garbage. I turned around and made eye contact with the guy who had just called me a ni**er and for a second I didn’t say anything. He froze and was unsure of what I was going to do. (I was too actually) After a moment, I simple said this “If I didn’t love the Lord, you would be in a lot of trouble right now.” I turned and walked into the gas station paid for my gas, and left.

          Now, you may be thinking that I handled that pretty well, but honestly I was very very very upset. I wanted to bust that guy right in his mouth. Now I know that I am supposed to be loving and Christ like, but I honestly wanted to knock that guy out. That’s the truth. 

          As a black man, I experience racism all the time. I can’t even tell you how many times I get followed in stores or looked at weird or just discriminated against in general. My first year in Siloam, I was pulled over 14 times for “routine traffic stops.” I was even recently pulled over and the cop spent 10 minutes making sure that the car I was driving was actually mine. (He actually asked me if I had stolen the car. This is after I showed him my insurance and registration) So, I am not naïve enough to think that racism is completely gone. I know that’s not true. But it’s been a while since I’ve experienced such hateful and blatant racism. It should be noted that I have spent the last 6 years living in places like Siloam Springs and Pea Ridge Arkansas. Not exactly the “black people” capital of the world.  

          This post is both to vent about my experience but also to ring the alarms that racism in America still exist. Hopefully this isn’t like some new and revolutionary idea to you! It should be noted that racism is not just towards black Americans. The truth is that we all have a little prejudice in us. (yes, even black people do!) We all do. I pray that we are all actively pursuing ways to rid ourselves of our prejudices. We are all God’s children and shouldn’t treat each other differently. Yes, we are all unique. Yes, there are cultural differences. Yes, God created both the uniqueness and cultural differences. No, that doesn’t mean that any race, people group, or person is any better or more special in the eyes of God.  

          I don’t have this racism thing figured out. If I did, I would write a book that would make me a millionaire because it’s a problem that has existed throughout all of mankind. I do know that I long for the day when I don’t have to worry about which town or place I stop to get gas. I long for the day when I don’t have to think about my color as an issue. I long for the day when people are known for who they are not what color they are. I long for the day when Blacks and Whites and Latins and Asians and Hispanics and Whoever can worship God together with vigor and passion for the only true and living God. Man, I long for heaven.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Singleness… Balance needed…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  September 6, 2007 at 2:02 am

    I’m not going to make my usual witty and sarcastic comment. Even I know some boundaries.

    “Here there is no Greek or Jew, circumcised or uncircumcised, barbarian, Scythian, slave or free, but Christ is all, and is in all.” ~ Colossians 3:11

  • 2. Matt  |  September 7, 2007 at 7:04 am

    You must have a bunch of wusses reading your blog. Everyone is afraid to comment on the race post.

  • 3. Matt  |  September 7, 2007 at 7:07 am

    Oh, I was also going to say, I wouldn’t be surprised if those two guys were in church on Sundays.

  • 4. Lindsey  |  September 8, 2007 at 6:44 pm

    Wow, thank you, Noah. I tend to be nieve and think that it’s 2007 and all this crap should be behind us too. Although I do know it still exsists, I just don’t encounter it much. And now my confession of predjudice, when I hear about a recist against a black person I automatically picture “white trash” dishing it out. But that is incorrect and somthing that I’m working on, I know very well that there are probably well polished wealthy people with a predjudice problem too.

  • 5. Sadie Perkins  |  September 13, 2007 at 2:29 am

    Noah I am impressed with how well you handled that. You are an admirable man. Now come to my house and visit us damnit! : )

  • 6. Seriously, Racism Still Exist? « Noah’s thoughts…  |  January 28, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    […] you recall, sometime last year I wrote a post proclaiming that racism in America still exist. (Racism Post) These two incidents, however, have been pretty sobering for me. On both of these occasions, I […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


