Singleness…

August 31, 2007 at 7:08 pm 6 comments

Let me start this post by saying I am very happy with my life. I am very content with where God has me and I generally love life. However, this whole single business sometimes gets one down in the dumps. I really should write when I am in such a state, but here I am. Though there are some wonderful things about being single, there are some things that get annoying and frustrating. I must say that most of those things stem from comments from other people. It should be noted that these comments aren’t meant to be negative, they just get old real quick. Here’s my list of questions/comments that sometimes get on my nerves! (things that sometimes drive me crazy)

 

  1. When someone asks me “Is there a lady in your life.” I know that people mean well when they say that, but for some reason, when I hear this, I just want to scream. I don’t know, I just do.

 

  1. When you haven’t seen a relative in like a few months and they ask, “So, are you married yet?” I sometimes want to reply “Yes I picked a random girl, and in the last month we dated and got married.” No, I am not married, I wasn’t even dating anyone the last time you saw me!

 

  1. One of my favorites: “So Noah, are there any plans to get married anytime soon?” HAHAHAHAHAHA Yes, actually, I have that in my day planner for around December. Yes, I have actually had several people ask me this.

 

  1. Here’s another good one: “You’re such a quality guy, I can’t believe you don’t have a woman.” I often don’t know what to say to such a comment. I guess the two are connected. I don’t have a woman so does that mean I am not a quality guy? I’m not the greatest thing since sliced bread or anything but, I’m a decent guy. I’m no Osama or Sadam or David Koresh (If you know who David Koresh is, you probably think it’s funny that I put him in the same list as Sadam Hussem and Osama Bin Laden.) Being a good guy has nothing to do with it. God has me where I am for a reason, and I don’t know that reason and to be quite frank, I don’t care. 🙂

 

I don’t know why I am venting about this issue right now. Perhaps it’s because in the last 48 hours, each of these questions or statements have been said to me at least once. I guess me being single is a bigger deal to other people than it is for me. At least on most days…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Insert Witty Title Here… Racism

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marcia  |  August 31, 2007 at 8:31 pm

    I understand you my friend! Just remember I am older than Cade by ___ years =) so I got that question a lot too. And then when I finally was dating someone my grandma must have thought I was desperate or something because she asked me if he was a Christian: “No, grandma, I went out and picked up the first guy off the street who would have me!” =)

  • 2. Jean-Luc  |  September 1, 2007 at 1:37 am

    Man, I understand. I’m a mid-30’s associate pastor in the south. Never been married. I was engaged once and I have no problems dating, I just haven’t found “the right one” whatever that means yet. And I try to tell people that being single at this point in my life while it is hard is not a tragedy, its just one of the hard things I deal with in my life, but my life is good. I can tell that people look at me with suspicion. I want to be married, I want to have a family, I love children and I am not a “playa”. But marriage is a big committment and I don’t want to enter into it lightly. I do wish people would just let it go.

  • 3. Matt  |  September 1, 2007 at 3:34 am

    Does this mean you have a girlfriend?! Finally! Do you have a date for the wedding yet?!

  • 4. Kelly  |  September 1, 2007 at 5:35 am

    Amen to all of the above. Sometimes I wonder if people even stop and think about the words coming out of their mouth sometimes. Though I think the worse came from my uncle this last summer. I hadn’t seen him in about 6 years. He asked the “Why don’t you have a man?” question but then added “Are you gay or something?” Apparently he doesn’t know me at all!

  • 5. pastornoah  |  September 1, 2007 at 8:01 pm

    Since I posted this, I was given the “It’s ok you’re single, after all Paul was single” speech! I hate that speech.

  • 6. Matt  |  September 6, 2007 at 2:03 am

    Hey, it’s biblical!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


