Insert Witty Title Here…

August 23, 2007 at 7:45 pm 7 comments

we-need-you.gif 

 

(I have no idea what that picture has to do with anything)

 

I am SOOO bad at this online writing thing. My friends (mostly just Kelly) harass (and I use that word in a nice sort of way J) me about being a week old. I think being a week old is pretty good. It’s better than being a month old. (Or a year old, which I accomplished when I had a xanga) Anyways, it is definitely time to do a little writing, so here’s what’s going on in Noah’s little world.

 

At my Church, we are making a few transitions that I think are going to be really good. First, we are revamping and evaluating the way we do Sunday school. We’ve created a clear purpose and are beginning the process to evaluate how we are doing. Simultaneously, we’re beginning to start some in home small groups. This really really excites me. As the Discipleship guy, I am really excited about seeing our discipleship efforts expand beyond Sunday school. So, I’ve been busily working on these two projects and it has been truly a joy. I have found that I am incredible passionate about discipleship. This isn’t a completely new revelation, but my fire just gets lit when I think about people experiencing life change that makes them more like Christ. Isn’t that what it’s all about: becoming more like Christ daily!

 

We’re starting some leadership training for small group leaders this weekend and I am both excited and nervous. I’ve taught a lot of classes and been responsible for a lot of things, but this is new territory for me. I know that God has been in the midst of this whole process and I know He will continue to be here. So I have some questions: (Yeah, interaction time!!!) You can answer all, none, or whichever ones you want! J

 

  1. What do you think about Small groups in homes?
  2. How has your Sunday school experience been?
  3. What are some strengths and weakness of both?
  4. If you could only attend one, which do you think would help YOU the most (this is NOT a loaded question. We are keeping both. J)

We had our back to school lock-in last Friday night. It was a lot of fun. We played a lot of games, watched a lot of movies, and ate a lot of food. I have some pretty fun and cool kids. We also played capture the flag which was fun, but turned out to not be the greatest idea. Well, capture the flag was a fine idea; just not capture the flag that involved using the sanctuary. Of course, something got broken. So I am in the other teams jail because I have just gotten caught after almost returning with there flag. One of my kids comes running to me shouting that a glass has broken. I’m thinking like a drinking glass, so my first thought is no big deal. Then he loosely explains that when he says glass, he means the stained glass windows located in the sanctuary. Now, I am a little freaked out. As I run from the other side of the church, I am imagining that I have a kid in the middle of this broken stained glass window, hanging with one part of his body inside and the other outside. When I arrive, everyone (and I mean everyone) is trying to give me their account of what happened. The hole in the glass is minimum (compared to what I had envisioned) and no one is hurt. (The glass is actually plastic I come to find out) Needless to say, there will be no more capture the flag games in the sanctuary. We had a good time though and I slept like all day Saturday.

 

On a personal note, I am feeling really busy. I am looking forward to Labor Day weekend. I will be playing a lot of golf! Even though I have been incredible busy, I feel like God is teaching me a lot of things. I know that I have to rely on Him more. As many of you know, I tend to try to take care of everything by myself, but God continually teaches me that I HAVE to rely on Him. This is a good thing. Well, I have some things that have to get done soon, so I will write later. I will do everything I can to make sure it’s before this time next week! Until next time, do something good for yourself and somebody else! Peace!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

TOO LONG!! Singleness…

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Matt  |  August 23, 2007 at 8:18 pm

    1. Small Groups in homes is great. I’m for it.

    2. Bad. People come late, people are tired, Sunday School teachers are unprepared. There’s just a stigma that Sunday school carries with it.

    3. SS strengths: people are already at church for the worship service, so people don’t have to make an extra trip just to come; they are already there. Sunday is the one day where people tend to still have open space in their calendar. SS weaknesses: People have a preconceived notion of what Sunday school should be. And this preconceived notion is often, shall we say, boring. So on one hand you’ve got people who think they know what Sunday school should be and they want it to stay that way, and everyone else thinks that way isn’t worth an hour of their time. SG strengths: Being in homes just provides a different environment. People let their guard down and are more laid back. Authentic might be a good word. You get to really know people, rather than just someone’s knowledge of the Bible. “Community” is built. You know how we love community. SG weaknesses: Leaders often don’t get much direction. They just get recruited and told “lead the group”. Groups don’t have a defined purpose. Are you meeting for prayer, spiritual direction, bible study, fellowship? All the above? Will the group be open or closed? What happens when a group grows beyond it’s ability to be a “small group”? When will the group decide it is time to disband the group? Will it go on for 30 years?

    4. Small groups.

  • 2. Kelly  |  August 24, 2007 at 3:05 am

    First of all let me say I am honored for being directly mentioned in your post! 🙂 As for your 4 questions I would have to say I whole heartedly agree with Matt. Though one thing I would add for the down side to small groups are when you have families and it can be difficult to figure out what to do with the kids, especially if they are young kids. With Sunday School they have thier own class and a nursery already provided.

  • 3. Lindsey  |  August 24, 2007 at 6:09 am

    I concur on all that was said already! And I used to like the idea of small groups alot before we had kids, now the thought exhausts me, unfortunatly. Really, that’s embarassing to admit!

    Dude! Did dad tell you about the time when I did my own church game that caused some brokeness? We were playing this game ( I must tell you about it,sooo much fun) and Bradley Morgan was in the nursery (old church) and our other friend, who measured about 6’4 and near 300 lbs was running down the hall toward him. When he got to Bradley, Bradley slammed the top half of the nursery door closed and the other guy put out his hands to keep it from hitting his face, and I kid you not, the door broke off right at the hinges! A clean break. We were bad…

  • 4. Matt  |  August 24, 2007 at 9:56 pm

    From now on, Noah, I’m going to answer all your posts first and then everyone can just agree with me. It’s my service to the world.

  • 5. pastornoah  |  August 24, 2007 at 9:59 pm

    i agree with what you just said

  • 6. Matt  |  August 24, 2007 at 10:05 pm

    PS – I’ve never had a kid break anything. Of course, part of my job is to make sure my kids don’t have fun…

  • 7. pastornoah  |  August 24, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    thats funny. I’m pretty sure one of my jobs is to make sure we are having fun

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


