TOO LONG!!

August 13, 2007 at 7:20 am 5 comments

It’s been far too long since I last wrote. So much has happened and I feel like I should catch up on things, but honestly, I dont feel like it. So, I will just talk about a few things that are going on in my life. I am finishing up my last masters degree class and I am very excited about that. My final paper is due on Tuesday and then Noah will both be done with school and have a masters degree. That’s a pretty cool combination!

Me, Pastor Al and Mrs. Suzanne had the privelege of going to a leadership conference this past weekend. I want to spend the majority of this post talking about a few things that I got from that conference. Actually, I am going to spend most of my time talking about this one thing. John Ortberg, who happens to be one of my favorite speakers now, did a session entitled  A leaders greatest fear: A Shadow Mission. What he dealt with was the idea that we all have missions. We all have visions and goals, but we have to be aware and guard against what he calls a shadow mission.

A shadow mission is your good mission hijacked by self conceit, pride and ego. A shadow mission are those things that we silently and personally struggle against and with. It could be pride, sexual addiction, apathy, etc. It has the capability of destroying our main mission and purpose in life if we aren’t careful. He did a beuatiful job of walking through the story found in Esther and I wont even try to relive that moment for you. It was however, amazing.

All that to say that God wants us to search our hearts and see what we are truly running after. Have you/me falling off of our main mission and settled for a shadow mission that is without God and without hope? I pray that we will never settle for the things that are unable to truly satisfy us. There is so much more to tell about this conference, but for now, I must finish my paper! Hope all is well and I would be very interested in your thoughts! Peace!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I Confess… Insert Witty Title Here…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chris  |  August 13, 2007 at 9:14 pm

    I miss you Noah.

  • 2. Ryan  |  August 15, 2007 at 3:15 am

    What will your Masters Degree be in?

  • 3. pastornoah  |  August 15, 2007 at 8:11 am

    Hey ryan…it is in Christian Ministry

  • 4. Lindsey  |  August 16, 2007 at 5:41 am

    Nice….I wonder if God ever gets exasperated with us. Shouldn’t we just want to do everything because we just love people with that same unconditional love!? We don’t, though. I find myself having to ask God often to help me to see people thru His eyes. Because He only knows perfect love. Somewhat frustrating.

  • 5. OdB  |  August 17, 2007 at 3:02 am

    congrats (again) on ur degree ~ and remember that no matter how hard our personal struggles may seem we are always His child, and He holds us in the palm of His hand. Nothing we do can make Him love us any less ~ Jer. 29:11

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


