Random ramblings…

July 19, 2007 at 11:54 pm 1 comment

be-happy.jpg 

I don’t really have a clear purpose for this post. I am not even sure why I am writing. As I sit here in my office, however, I am hit with the desire to write, so that’s what I’m doing. Last night in youth group, we talked about the idea of community. We talked about it in view of it being a spiritual discipline, which may sound weird. But I think that it is a discipline in that it is something that we need to actively be pursuing and is hard for us to do. This is very similar to the more traditional disciplines. I was really struck by how attentive and how many light bulbs came on last night. I think everyone (well, mostly everyoneJ) is starting to really get this spiritual discipline stuff. That of course, makes me very happy. 

We leave tomorrow for a retreat at Mt. Sequoyah in Fayetteville. I am pretty excited about that. I think its going to be a very good time, and I am very excited about our corporate worship times. Andrew Bolger, a friend from John Brown, will be our speaker and I am confident that he is going to connect well with the students. He was the Men’s Ministry leader at JBU the last two years and is going to seminary in the fall. Since we have over 15 guys going on this trip (and only 6 girls) I think he’ll connect really well. I am also excited about just hanging out with my kids. Cody Woodward is leading our musical worship time. He has convinced me to sing with him, so it should be fun. I think Mt. Sequoyah is a wonderful place to really experience God in nature. I mean the place is beautiful! (this is not to say you cant experience God in nature in other places…) 

I may be getting a dog. I think I want a small one. I don’t really like big dogs, they sort of creep me out. I mean if it looks like it could eat me, I don’t want it walking around my house, or roaming my yard. I have no shame in admitting that I like small little cuddly dogs. J We’ll see. I tried this dog thing once before and well, it didn’t work out so well as it ran away. Those beagles are smart dogs, or stupid depending on how you look at it. (It found a way to push open my screen door and off it went, never to be seen again…)  

 I don’t think I am reading enough. I wish I had more time to read stuff, but with class, work, and life, reading has taken a back seat. Soon, I pray that won’t be the case. Speaking of class, it’s kicking me pretty hard right now. My major paper is due in a few weeks, and let’s just say I have a lot of work yet to be done. Well I think that’s all for now. I think I actually enjoy this whole blogging/journaling thing. It could work, we shall see. (this really was a random post.)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Who is this Guy? SCRUFFY!!!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kelly  |  July 20, 2007 at 10:34 am

    I totally agree with you about Mt. Sequoyah being an wonderful place to experiance God. I love that my church meets up there in Millar every Sunday night!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Stuff I am reading:

The Ultimate Priority
The Ultimate Priority
John MacArthur

How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
The Heart of Racial Justice: How Soul Change Leads to Social Change
Brenda Salter Mcneil

The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
The Trivialization of God: The Dangerous Illusion of a Manageable Deity
Donald W. McCullough

Books I want to read soon….(In the on deck circle)

Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Transforming Discipleship: Making Disciples a Few at a Time
Greg Ogden


